Spotlight On Our Member: Stephen from BAF

There are so many fantastic people who make up the community Ben’s Friends! And every one of us has a story to tell. Periodically through Spotlight we’re going to “spotlight” a member and their story. With that in mind, meet Stephen:

To which Ben’s Friends community do you belong?
I belong to the Brain Aneurysm Support Community

Where is home for you?
I live in The Northeast, United States

Tell us a little about yourself and your family.
I grew up in New York City. I graduated from college with a degree in theater. I returned to New York after graduation and worked as a recruiter for software programmers, an office manager at a theater company, and institutional sales and options trader in finance. After the 2008 subprime mortgage crisis, I went to graduate school to get my MFA in creative writing. Subsequently, I became a teacher and was able to teach undergraduate creative writing classes while I got my degree. Later, I taught English classes in Macau (on a Fulbright Grant), Hong Kong, and middle and high school English and writing classes at an independent school in The US for students with ADHD and learning disabilities. Outside of teaching, I’ve published a lot of short stories, and my first book entitled Pavement comes out on July, 24th, 2019. My folks left New York for South Carolina a little over a decade ago, and I have a younger brother who is a doctor.

What was the first sign you remember that indicated something was wrong?
I started sweating profusely, as if I had just run a marathon, but I hadn’t been doing anything strenuous.

Tell us something about your journey to the diagnosis you have today.